Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

Molecular hydrogen suppresses reactive astrogliosis related to oxidative injury during spinal cord injury in rats

Liu FT, Xu SM, Xiang ZH, Li XN, Li J, Yuan HB, Sun XJ. · CNS Neuroscience & Therapeutics. 2014;20(8):778–786.

PreclinicalOther formsPublished 2014Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Preclinical

Population or model

Adult male Sprague–Dawley rats with contusive spinal-cord injury and primary cultured rat astrocytes exposed to hydrogen peroxide/ferrous-ion oxidative injury.

Intervention and dose

Immediately after surgery, hydrogen-rich saline 8 mL/kg was injected intraperitoneally and repeated every 12 hours until sacrifice; cultured astrocytes received hydrogen-rich medium maintained by replacement every six hours. · The cell medium was maintained at 0.6 mmol/L H₂. The article refers to a previous preparation method for the injected saline but does not state a measured saline concentration in this report, so Hydrogenology does not assign one.

Duration

Every 12 hours from immediately after surgery through the assigned day-3, day-7 or day-14 assessment; cell treatment lasted 12 hours with medium changed every six hours.

Reported result

Hydrogen-rich saline reduced the reported inflammatory and astrogliosis measures and improved BBB locomotor scores on days 7 and 14. BBB scores were not reported as improved on day 1. In cells, hydrogen-rich medium had no reported difference from normal medium without oxidative injury, while it reduced oxidative-injury-associated ROS, astrogliosis and cytokines.

Main limitation

Preclinical injury model with multiple tissue and cell outcomes, one sex, short 14-day follow-up and no directly translatable human dose. The injected-saline H₂ concentration is not stated in this article and is not inferred from the 0.6 mmol/L cell-medium concentration. No dedicated funding or conflict-of-interest statement was identified in the checked article, so absence is not inferred.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Preclinical

Reported design

Randomized three-group rat spinal-cord-injury experiment with complementary primary-astrocyte assays

Research topic

Other neurological conditions

Administration form

Other forms

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

Adult male Sprague–Dawley rats with contusive spinal-cord injury and primary cultured rat astrocytes exposed to hydrogen peroxide/ferrous-ion oxidative injury.

Sample

72 rats randomized to sham plus saline n=24, spinal-cord injury plus saline n=24 and spinal-cord injury plus hydrogen-rich saline n=24. Six rats/group were assigned to each principal in-vivo time-point or functional assessment; cell experiments were repeated at least three times.

Duration

Every 12 hours from immediately after surgery through the assigned day-3, day-7 or day-14 assessment; cell treatment lasted 12 hours with medium changed every six hours.

Intervention

Immediately after surgery, hydrogen-rich saline 8 mL/kg was injected intraperitoneally and repeated every 12 hours until sacrifice; cultured astrocytes received hydrogen-rich medium maintained by replacement every six hours.

Hydrogen form

H₂ dissolved in saline or culture medium — H₂ only, not Brown's gas and not inhalation.

Dose or H₂ specification

The cell medium was maintained at 0.6 mmol/L H₂. The article refers to a previous preparation method for the injected saline but does not state a measured saline concentration in this report, so Hydrogenology does not assign one.

Comparator

Spinal-cord-injury rats receiving normal saline, sham-operated saline controls and matched cell-culture controls.

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

Spinal-cord IL-1β, IL-6 and TNF-α, STAT3/p-STAT3 and GFAP, reactive astrogliosis, BBB locomotor score and cell ROS, hydroxyl radical, hypertrophy, proliferation and cytokine release.

Reported result

Hydrogen-rich saline reduced the reported inflammatory and astrogliosis measures and improved BBB locomotor scores on days 7 and 14. BBB scores were not reported as improved on day 1. In cells, hydrogen-rich medium had no reported difference from normal medium without oxidative injury, while it reduced oxidative-injury-associated ROS, astrogliosis and cytokines.

Extraction completeness

The complete open-access article, randomized allocation, assay-specific sample sizes, route and schedule, cell-medium concentration, positive and null findings and article disclosures were checked.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Preclinical injury model with multiple tissue and cell outcomes, one sex, short 14-day follow-up and no directly translatable human dose. The injected-saline H₂ concentration is not stated in this article and is not inferred from the 0.6 mmol/L cell-medium concentration. No dedicated funding or conflict-of-interest statement was identified in the checked article, so absence is not inferred.

Applies directly to

Contusive spinal-cord injury in rats and oxidative injury in cultured rat astrocytes; it does not establish efficacy or safety in people with spinal-cord injury.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 24685114 · DOI: 10.1111/cns.12258

Publisher access

Open-access PubMed Central article.

Extraction basis

Complete PubMed Central article and PubMed metadata; full-text extraction checked 9 August 2026.

Last reviewed

10 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.