Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

Hydrogen-rich saline ameliorates hippocampal neuron apoptosis through up-regulating cystathionine β-synthase after cerebral ischemia-reperfusion in rats

Cong HM et al. · Iran J Basic Med Sci. 2020;23(4):494–499.

PreclinicalOther formsPublished 2020Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Preclinical

Population or model

Adult male Sprague-Dawley rats after two hours of MCAO and reperfusion

Intervention and dose

Hydrogen-rich saline 1 mL/kg after the beginning of reperfusion · At least 0.6 mmol/L dissolved H₂; 1 mL/kg. Administration route was not stated in the article’s experiment-design paragraph.

Duration

Two hours of occlusion followed by reperfusion; principal assessment at 24 hours

Reported result

The article reports higher H₂S, CBS, Nrf2, HO-1 and SOD and lower injury, apoptosis, S100β, NSE, ROS and MDA with H₂-rich saline.

Main limitation

Small acute preclinical stroke model with many molecular outcomes and an unreported administration route.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Preclinical

Reported design

Randomized three-group rat middle-cerebral-artery-occlusion experiment

Research topic

Other neurological conditions

Administration form

Other forms

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

Adult male Sprague-Dawley rats after two hours of MCAO and reperfusion

Sample

36 rats, n=12/group

Duration

Two hours of occlusion followed by reperfusion; principal assessment at 24 hours

Intervention

Hydrogen-rich saline 1 mL/kg after the beginning of reperfusion

Hydrogen form

H₂ dissolved in saline — H₂ only, not Brown’s gas and not inhalation.

Dose or H₂ specification

At least 0.6 mmol/L dissolved H₂; 1 mL/kg. Administration route was not stated in the article’s experiment-design paragraph.

Comparator

Untreated ischemia-reperfusion and sham surgery

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

H₂S, S100β, NSE, ROS, MDA, SOD, hippocampal histology and apoptosis, CBS, Nrf2 and HO-1

Reported result

The article reports higher H₂S, CBS, Nrf2, HO-1 and SOD and lower injury, apoptosis, S100β, NSE, ROS and MDA with H₂-rich saline.

Extraction completeness

Allocation, concentration threshold, dose, timing, methods and principal outcomes checked in the open-access full text; route is not reported.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Small acute preclinical stroke model with many molecular outcomes and an unreported administration route.

Applies directly to

Cerebral ischemia-reperfusion in rats, not stroke care in people.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 32489564 · DOI: 10.22038/ijbms.2020.41751.9857

Publisher access

Open-access full text is available through PMC.

Extraction basis

Open-access PMC article and PubMed record; no retraction or expression of concern was shown in the checked records on 7 August 2026.

Last reviewed

10 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.