Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

Hydrogen gas alleviates lipopolysaccharide-induced acute lung injury and inflammatory response in mice

Yin H et al. · J Inflamm (Lond). 2022;19:16.

PreclinicalInhaled H₂Published 2022Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Preclinical

Population or model

105 female C57BL/6 mice challenged with lipopolysaccharide and cultured mouse macrophages

Intervention and dose

Continuous 42% H₂ inhalation for 72 hours after LPS or saline administration · Final animal mixture: 42% H₂, 21% O₂ and 37% N₂. The generator output was reported as 3 L/min before nitrogen dilution.

Duration

Continuous inhalation for 72 hours

Reported result

The article reports survival of 80% with LPS plus H₂ versus 60% with LPS, less tissue injury and lower several inflammatory and oxidative measures. Serum IL-6 did not change with treatment.

Main limitation

Mouse LPS model with continuous very-high-concentration exposure; the study was funded by the device manufacturer. Component flows are calculated from generator output, not measured inspired dose.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Preclinical

Reported design

Randomized mouse acute-lung-injury experiment plus RAW 264.7 macrophage experiments

Research topic

Respiratory health

Administration form

Inhaled H₂

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

105 female C57BL/6 mice challenged with lipopolysaccharide and cultured mouse macrophages

Sample

105 mice randomized to three groups of 35; n=10/group for 72-hour survival and the remainder for timed tissue sampling

Duration

Continuous inhalation for 72 hours

Intervention

Continuous 42% H₂ inhalation for 72 hours after LPS or saline administration

Hydrogen form

Diluted oxyhydrogen: a 66.7% H₂/33.3% O₂ Brown’s-gas output was diluted with nitrogen to 42% H₂, 21% O₂ and 37% N₂.

Dose or H₂ specification

Final animal mixture: 42% H₂, 21% O₂ and 37% N₂. The generator output was reported as 3 L/min before nitrogen dilution.

H₂ flow

The generator’s reported 3 L/min oxyhydrogen output corresponds to about 2,010 mL/min H₂; final total chamber flow after nitrogen dilution was not reported.

O₂ delivered with H₂

The generator output corresponds to about 990 mL/min O₂ before dilution; the final animal mixture contained 21% O₂, but final O₂ flow was not reported.

Comparator

LPS acute-lung-injury mice without H₂ and H₂-only controls

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

Survival, lung histology, cytokines, oxidative measures, TLR4/NF-κB signaling and macrophage-cell outcomes

Reported result

The article reports survival of 80% with LPS plus H₂ versus 60% with LPS, less tissue injury and lower several inflammatory and oxidative measures. Serum IL-6 did not change with treatment.

Extraction completeness

Allocation, gas generation and composition, duration, principal positive and null results, funding and conflicts checked in the open-access full text.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Mouse LPS model with continuous very-high-concentration exposure; the study was funded by the device manufacturer. Component flows are calculated from generator output, not measured inspired dose.

Applies directly to

LPS-induced acute lung injury in mice, not acute respiratory distress syndrome in patients.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 36253774 · DOI: 10.1186/s12950-022-00314-x

Publisher access

Open-access full text is available through PMC and the publisher.

Extraction basis

Open-access PMC/publisher full text and PubMed record; no retraction or expression of concern was shown in the checked records on 7 August 2026.

Last reviewed

10 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.