Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

Efficacy of donepezil plus hydrogen–oxygen mixture inhalation for treatment of patients with Alzheimer disease: A retrospective study

Dan Z, Li H, Xie J. · Medicine. 2023;102(30):e34382.

HumanInhaled H₂Published 2023Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Human

Population or model

273 patients with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer disease treated between March 2018 and March 2022.

Intervention and dose

Donepezil 5 mg daily plus H₂/O₂ inhalation once daily, six days each week for four weeks. · Generator output was 3 L/min; direct calculation gives approximately 2,000 mL/min H₂ and 1,000 mL/min O₂. Duration of each daily inhalation session was not reported.

Duration

Four weeks of treatment with three-month video/telephone or outpatient follow-up described; per-session inhalation duration was not stated.

Reported result

Four-week cognitive, daily-living and P300 comparisons favored the combined-treatment group. Both groups improved on several measures. Baseline scale scores did not differ significantly. The report did not establish whether improvements persisted at the described three-month follow-up.

Main limitation

Retrospective nonrandomized co-intervention study with no H₂-only arm, possible selection/confounding and treatment-adherence bias, scale-led outcomes, unreported inhalation-session duration and unclear three-month outcome reporting. Hospital support funded the study; authors declared no conflicts and the commercial generator was identified but no material-support statement was provided.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Human

Reported design

Single-hospital retrospective comparative study

Research topic

Other neurological conditions

Administration form

Inhaled H₂

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

273 patients with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer disease treated between March 2018 and March 2022.

Sample

273 records: donepezil plus H₂/O₂ n=138 and donepezil alone n=135.

Duration

Four weeks of treatment with three-month video/telephone or outpatient follow-up described; per-session inhalation duration was not stated.

Intervention

Donepezil 5 mg daily plus H₂/O₂ inhalation once daily, six days each week for four weeks.

Hydrogen form

Brown's gas / oxyhydrogen generated as 66.67% H₂ and 33.33% O₂.

Dose or H₂ specification

Generator output was 3 L/min; direct calculation gives approximately 2,000 mL/min H₂ and 1,000 mL/min O₂. Duration of each daily inhalation session was not reported.

H₂ flow

Approximately 2,000 mL/min.

O₂ delivered with H₂

Approximately 1,000 mL/min.

Comparator

Donepezil 5 mg daily without H₂/O₂; treatment was not randomized.

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

MMSE, MoCA, ADAS-Cog, activities of daily living and P300 event-related-potential latency/amplitude.

Reported result

Four-week cognitive, daily-living and P300 comparisons favored the combined-treatment group. Both groups improved on several measures. Baseline scale scores did not differ significantly. The report did not establish whether improvements persisted at the described three-month follow-up.

Extraction completeness

The complete free PMC article and tables were checked for retrospective allocation, exact generator output/composition, missing session duration, all cognitive and P300 outcomes, follow-up description, funding and conflicts.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Retrospective nonrandomized co-intervention study with no H₂-only arm, possible selection/confounding and treatment-adherence bias, scale-led outcomes, unreported inhalation-session duration and unclear three-month outcome reporting. Hospital support funded the study; authors declared no conflicts and the commercial generator was identified but no material-support statement was provided.

Applies directly to

Mild-to-moderate Alzheimer disease treated with donepezil in one hospital; it does not establish independent H₂ efficacy or disease modification.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 37505148 · DOI: 10.1097/MD.0000000000034382

Publisher access

Free full article in PubMed Central.

Extraction basis

Complete PMC article and PubMed metadata; full-text extraction checked 9 August 2026.

Last reviewed

10 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.