Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

The Improvement of Physical Function and Caregiver Burden by a Multimodal Intervention: A Case Study of Combined Exercise Therapy, Nutritional Guidance, and Hydrogen Gas Inhalation Therapy

Harada Y, Okamura R, Sawano J, Koide N, Miyakawa M. · Cureus. 2025;17(2):e79516.

HumanInhaled H₂Published 2025Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Human

Population or model

Human participants studied for exercise and recovery. See eligibility criteria in the linked full text.

Intervention and dose

Full text reports inhaled H₂-containing gas. Detected intervention quantities or schedules: 4%, 60 minutes. · H₂-related quantities reported in the intervention passages: 4%, 60 minutes. Values are not combined across different experimental arms.

Duration

60 minutes

Reported result

Article-reported result excerpt (24 words maximum): “Parameters Reference Range* X - 90 days Pre-intervention Results (X day) Post-intervention Results (X+ 90 days) .” This excerpt is not a complete result summary; consult the linked full text for all positive and null findings.

Main limitation

Human evidence; design, sample size and comparator limit interpretation. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. The full article contains a conflict, commercial-support or supplied-product declaration; consult the source wording.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Human

Reported design

Human interventional or observational study

Research topic

Exercise and recovery

Administration form

Inhaled H₂

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

Human participants studied for exercise and recovery. See eligibility criteria in the linked full text.

Sample

Human study; the article does not state one consolidated sample total, so no total is inferred.

Duration

60 minutes

Intervention

Full text reports inhaled H₂-containing gas. Detected intervention quantities or schedules: 4%, 60 minutes.

Hydrogen form

Inhaled molecular H₂; not classified as Brown’s gas without an H₂/O₂ composition.

Dose or H₂ specification

H₂-related quantities reported in the intervention passages: 4%, 60 minutes. Values are not combined across different experimental arms.

H₂ flow

Not reported in the full article — an absolute H₂ flow in mL/min could not be verified.

O₂ delivered with H₂

O₂ concentration and absolute O₂ flow were not both reported in the full article; no value is inferred.

Comparator

Control or comparison condition reported in the full article; see the linked methods for arm-specific details.

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

clinical symptoms or functional scores, inflammation and cytokines, oxidative-stress and antioxidant markers, apoptosis or cell injury, neurological or behavioral measures, cardiovascular measures

Reported result

Article-reported result excerpt (24 words maximum): “Parameters Reference Range* X - 90 days Pre-intervention Results (X day) Post-intervention Results (X+ 90 days) .” This excerpt is not a complete result summary; consult the linked full text for all positive and null findings.

Extraction completeness

The complete machine-readable article was checked for source identity, methods, intervention quantities, results, tables, funding and conflict declarations. This public record is based on the full article.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Human evidence; design, sample size and comparator limit interpretation. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. The full article contains a conflict, commercial-support or supplied-product declaration; consult the source wording.

Applies directly to

Applies only to the population and protocol reported in this exercise and recovery article.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 40151718 · DOI: 10.7759/cureus.79516

Publisher access

A free full article is available through PubMed Central.

Extraction basis

Official Europe PMC JATS full article and PubMed/PMC identifiers; structured full-text extraction and validation completed 8 August 2026.

Last reviewed

10 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.