Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

Inhalation of high concentration hydrogen gas improves short-term outcomes in a rat model of asphyxia induced-cardiac arrest

Huang L, Applegate RL II, Applegate PM, Boling W, Zhang JH. · Medical Gas Research. 2018;8(3):73–78.

PreclinicalInhaled H₂Published 2018Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Preclinical

Population or model

56 older male Sprague-Dawley rats subjected to nine or eleven minutes of asphyxia and cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

Intervention and dose

One hour before plus one hour after resuscitation, or two hours beginning one hour after resuscitation, in a hydrogen-treatment chamber. · The generator was described as capable of 67% H₂/33% O₂ at 2–3 L/min, but the experiment used a monitored chamber concentration of 60% H₂ without stating the actual intervention flow or chamber O₂ concentration.

Duration

One-hour pre- and post-treatment or two-hour post-treatment; neurological observations through 72 hours and survival through seven days.

Reported result

Most comparisons were trends rather than statistically confirmed benefits. In the nine-minute model, neurological scores, seizures and seven-day survival did not differ significantly. In the eleven-minute model, resuscitation success, seizures and overall mortality numerically favored H₂, but none reached statistical significance; hemodynamics and body-weight changes were also largely null.

Main limitation

Small male-rat groups, pre-treatment has limited clinical realism, no matched chamber control, severe-model attrition after failed resuscitation, only two schedules and predominantly nonsignificant outcomes. A Loma Linda anesthesiology endowment funded the study; authors declared no conflicts and identified the commercial generator manufacturer.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Preclinical

Reported design

Two-experiment rat asphyxial-cardiac-arrest study comparing post-treatment with pre-plus-post treatment

Research topic

Critical care and ischemia-reperfusion

Administration form

Inhaled H₂

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

56 older male Sprague-Dawley rats subjected to nine or eleven minutes of asphyxia and cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

Sample

Experiment I: untreated n=13, post-treatment n=13 and pre-plus-post n=12. Experiment II: untreated n=9 and pre-plus-post n=9.

Duration

One-hour pre- and post-treatment or two-hour post-treatment; neurological observations through 72 hours and survival through seven days.

Intervention

One hour before plus one hour after resuscitation, or two hours beginning one hour after resuscitation, in a hydrogen-treatment chamber.

Hydrogen form

Water-electrolysis oxyhydrogen source. The chamber was monitored at 60% H₂; the exact delivered O₂ percentage was not reported, so the exposure is not relabeled as a confirmed 60:30 Brown's-gas mixture.

Dose or H₂ specification

The generator was described as capable of 67% H₂/33% O₂ at 2–3 L/min, but the experiment used a monitored chamber concentration of 60% H₂ without stating the actual intervention flow or chamber O₂ concentration.

H₂ flow

Not reported — the device capability of 2–3 L/min is not treated as the actual experimental flow.

O₂ delivered with H₂

Generated O₂ was co-delivered, but the exact chamber percentage and mL/min flow were not reported.

Comparator

Cardiac arrest without chamber H₂ treatment; no matched chamber-gas exposure was described.

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

Return of spontaneous circulation, hemodynamics, seizures, neurological-deficit score, body weight and seven-day survival.

Reported result

Most comparisons were trends rather than statistically confirmed benefits. In the nine-minute model, neurological scores, seizures and seven-day survival did not differ significantly. In the eleven-minute model, resuscitation success, seizures and overall mortality numerically favored H₂, but none reached statistical significance; hemodynamics and body-weight changes were also largely null.

Extraction completeness

The complete free PMC article, tables and figures were checked for both experiments, group allocation, exposure details, the distinction between device capability and actual flow, positive-direction trends, null findings, limitations, funding and conflicts.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Small male-rat groups, pre-treatment has limited clinical realism, no matched chamber control, severe-model attrition after failed resuscitation, only two schedules and predominantly nonsignificant outcomes. A Loma Linda anesthesiology endowment funded the study; authors declared no conflicts and identified the commercial generator manufacturer.

Applies directly to

Experimental asphyxial cardiac arrest in rats; it does not establish neurological or survival benefit after human cardiac arrest.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 30319760 · DOI: 10.4103/2045-9912.241063

Publisher access

Free full article in PubMed Central.

Extraction basis

Complete PMC article and PubMed metadata; full-text extraction checked 9 August 2026.

Last reviewed

10 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.