Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

Pharmacokinetics of a single inhalation of hydrogen gas in pigs

Sano M, Ichihara G, Katsumata Y, Hiraide T, Hirai A, Momoi M, Tamura T, Ohata S, Kobayashi E. · PloS one. 2020;15(6):e0234626.

PreclinicalInhaled H₂Published 2020Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Preclinical

Population or model

pigs, pig used to study cardiovascular and circulatory health.

Intervention and dose

Full text reports inhaled H₂-containing gas. Detected intervention quantities or schedules: 1 mL, 100%, 0.2 mL, 0.4 mL, 130 ppm. · H₂-related quantities reported in the intervention passages: 1 mL, 100%, 0.2 mL, 0.4 mL, 130 ppm. Values are not combined across different experimental arms.

Duration

Multiple article-specific time points; see the linked full methods.

Reported result

Article-reported result excerpt (24 words maximum): “These results indicate that H_2 produced by bacteria in the colon is carried by the portal circulation, most of it is trapped in the…” This excerpt is not a complete result summary; consult the linked full text for all positive and null findings.

Main limitation

Preclinical evidence only; findings do not establish a treatment effect in people. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. No explicit conflict statement was identified in the machine-readable full article; absence is not inferred.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Preclinical

Reported design

Controlled preclinical study

Research topic

Cardiovascular and circulatory health

Administration form

Inhaled H₂

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

pigs, pig used to study cardiovascular and circulatory health.

Sample

Preclinical study; the article does not state one consolidated sample total, so no total is inferred.

Duration

Multiple article-specific time points; see the linked full methods.

Intervention

Full text reports inhaled H₂-containing gas. Detected intervention quantities or schedules: 1 mL, 100%, 0.2 mL, 0.4 mL, 130 ppm.

Hydrogen form

Inhaled molecular H₂ at 100%; not classified as Brown’s gas without an H₂/O₂ composition.

Dose or H₂ specification

H₂-related quantities reported in the intervention passages: 1 mL, 100%, 0.2 mL, 0.4 mL, 130 ppm. Values are not combined across different experimental arms.

H₂ flow

Not reported in the full article — an absolute H₂ flow in mL/min could not be verified.

O₂ delivered with H₂

O₂ concentration and absolute O₂ flow were not both reported in the full article; no value is inferred.

Comparator

Placebo or matched control reported in the full article.

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

inflammation and cytokines, neurological or behavioral measures, cardiovascular measures, respiratory measures

Reported result

Article-reported result excerpt (24 words maximum): “These results indicate that H_2 produced by bacteria in the colon is carried by the portal circulation, most of it is trapped in the…” This excerpt is not a complete result summary; consult the linked full text for all positive and null findings.

Extraction completeness

The complete machine-readable article was checked for source identity, methods, intervention quantities, results, tables, funding and conflict declarations. This public record is based on the full article.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Preclinical evidence only; findings do not establish a treatment effect in people. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. No explicit conflict statement was identified in the machine-readable full article; absence is not inferred.

Applies directly to

Applies to the reported animal, cell or tissue model, not directly to patients.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 32559239 · DOI: 10.1371/journal.pone.0234626

Publisher access

A free full article is available through PubMed Central.

Extraction basis

Official PubMed/PMC full article; source identity, intervention data and declarations re-audited 25 August 2026.

Last reviewed

25 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.