Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

Impact of hydrogen gas inhalation during therapeutic hypothermia on cerebral hemodynamics and oxygenation in the asphyxiated piglet

Nakamura S, Nakao Y, Htun Y, Mitsuie T, Koyano K, Morimoto A, Konishi Y, Arioka M, Kondo S, Kato I, Ohta KI, Yasuda S, Miki T, Ueno M, Kusaka T. · Scientific reports. 2023;13(1):1615.

PreclinicalInhaled H₂Published 2023Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Preclinical

Population or model

Asphyxiated newborn piglets studied during normothermia or therapeutic hypothermia.

Intervention and dose

Ventilator-delivered H₂ for 24 hours during therapeutic hypothermia. The inhaled H₂ concentration varied from 2.1% to 2.7% as oxygen requirements changed. · Delivered H₂: usually 2.1–2.7%; FiO₂ range 0.21–0.40. The source cylinder contained 3.8% H₂ and 96.2% N₂; 3.8% was not the final delivered concentration.

Duration

24 hours of H₂ ventilation during therapeutic hypothermia.

Reported result

Article-reported result excerpt (24 words maximum): “The duration of LAEEG after the insult did not differ among the groups [mean (SD): NT group, 25.4 (8.0) min; TH group, 26.2 (13.2)…” This excerpt is not a complete result summary; consult the linked full text for all positive and null findings.

Main limitation

Preclinical evidence only; findings do not establish a treatment effect in people. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. The article declares no conflicts of interest.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Preclinical

Reported design

Controlled animal and cell study

Research topic

Other molecular hydrogen research

Administration form

Inhaled H₂

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

Asphyxiated newborn piglets studied during normothermia or therapeutic hypothermia.

Sample

26 piglets: normothermia n=10, hypothermia n=8 and hypothermia plus H₂ n=8.

Duration

24 hours of H₂ ventilation during therapeutic hypothermia.

Intervention

Ventilator-delivered H₂ for 24 hours during therapeutic hypothermia. The inhaled H₂ concentration varied from 2.1% to 2.7% as oxygen requirements changed.

Hydrogen form

Inhaled H₂ prepared from a 3.8% H₂/96.2% N₂ cylinder with supplemental O₂; not Brown’s gas.

Dose or H₂ specification

Delivered H₂: usually 2.1–2.7%; FiO₂ range 0.21–0.40. The source cylinder contained 3.8% H₂ and 96.2% N₂; 3.8% was not the final delivered concentration.

H₂ flow

Not reported in the full article — an absolute H₂ flow in mL/min could not be verified.

O₂ delivered with H₂

O₂ was adjusted according to each piglet’s need (FiO₂ 0.21–0.40); absolute O₂ flow was not reported.

Comparator

Asphyxia with normothermia and asphyxia with therapeutic hypothermia without H₂.

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

survival or mortality, clinical symptoms or functional scores, oxidative-stress and antioxidant markers, apoptosis or cell injury, histology or tissue damage, metabolic laboratory measures

Reported result

Article-reported result excerpt (24 words maximum): “The duration of LAEEG after the insult did not differ among the groups [mean (SD): NT group, 25.4 (8.0) min; TH group, 26.2 (13.2)…” This excerpt is not a complete result summary; consult the linked full text for all positive and null findings.

Extraction completeness

The complete machine-readable article was checked for source identity, methods, intervention quantities, results, tables, funding and conflict declarations. This public record is based on the full article.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Preclinical evidence only; findings do not establish a treatment effect in people. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. The article declares no conflicts of interest.

Applies directly to

Applies to the reported animal, cell or tissue model, not directly to patients.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 36709361 · DOI: 10.1038/s41598-023-28274-z

Publisher access

A free full article is available through PubMed Central.

Extraction basis

Official PubMed/PMC full article; record re-audited and corrected 25 August 2026.

Last reviewed

25 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.