Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

Molecular Hydrogen Affords Similar Neuroprotection to Therapeutic Hypothermia in a Porcine Model of Neonatal Hypoxic–Ischemic Encephalopathy

Balog E, Remzső G, Tóth-Szűki V, Rózsa É, Kovács V, Domoki F. · Antioxidants (Basel, Switzerland). 2025;14(12):1405.

PreclinicalInhaled H₂Published 2025Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Preclinical

Population or model

Twenty-two newborn male Landrace piglets in a hypoxic–ischemic encephalopathy model.

Intervention and dose

After 20 minutes of induced asphyxia, the H₂ group was continuously ventilated with 2.1% H₂, 21% O₂ and 76.9% N₂ during the 48-hour observation period. · 2.1% H₂, 21% O₂ and 76.9% N₂. Absolute gas flow was not reported.

Duration

Continuous ventilation during 48 hours of post-asphyxia observation.

Reported result

Article-reported result excerpt (24 words maximum): “The total duration of seizure activity did not differ significantly between the A-NT (3.4 ± 1.0 h) and A-H_2 (3.1 ± 0.7 h) groups…” This excerpt is not a complete result summary; consult the linked full text for all positive and null findings.

Main limitation

Preclinical evidence only; findings do not establish a treatment effect in people. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. The article declares no conflicts of interest.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Preclinical

Reported design

Controlled preclinical study

Research topic

Other molecular hydrogen research

Administration form

Inhaled H₂

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

Twenty-two newborn male Landrace piglets in a hypoxic–ischemic encephalopathy model.

Sample

22 piglets: asphyxia-normothermia n=6, asphyxia-H₂ n=8 and asphyxia-hypothermia n=8.

Duration

Continuous ventilation during 48 hours of post-asphyxia observation.

Intervention

After 20 minutes of induced asphyxia, the H₂ group was continuously ventilated with 2.1% H₂, 21% O₂ and 76.9% N₂ during the 48-hour observation period.

Hydrogen form

Inhaled H₂/N₂/O₂ research mixture — 2.1% H₂, not Brown’s gas.

Dose or H₂ specification

2.1% H₂, 21% O₂ and 76.9% N₂. Absolute gas flow was not reported.

H₂ flow

Not reported — the source gives gas percentages but no total flow.

O₂ delivered with H₂

21% O₂; absolute O₂ flow was not reported.

Comparator

Asphyxia with normothermia and asphyxia with therapeutic hypothermia.

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

Physiological measures, EEG/seizures, visual evoked potentials and neuropathology.

Reported result

Article-reported result excerpt (24 words maximum): “The total duration of seizure activity did not differ significantly between the A-NT (3.4 ± 1.0 h) and A-H_2 (3.1 ± 0.7 h) groups…” This excerpt is not a complete result summary; consult the linked full text for all positive and null findings.

Extraction completeness

The complete machine-readable article was checked for source identity, methods, intervention quantities, results, tables, funding and conflict declarations. This public record is based on the full article.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Preclinical evidence only; findings do not establish a treatment effect in people. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. The article declares no conflicts of interest.

Applies directly to

Applies to the reported animal, cell or tissue model, not directly to patients.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 41462605 · DOI: 10.3390/antiox14121405

Publisher access

A free full article is available through PubMed Central.

Extraction basis

Official PubMed/PMC full article; record re-audited and corrected 25 August 2026.

Last reviewed

25 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.