Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

Hydrogen inhalation therapy alone may not alleviate intestinal mucosal damage in NOMI without total‐layer necrosis: An experimental swine model study

Tanaka Y, Matsumura Y, Hayashi Y, Aoki M, Izawa Y, Endo K, Mato T. · Acute medicine & surgery. 2025;12(1):e70072.

PreclinicalInhaled H₂Published 2025Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Preclinical

Population or model

Eight 3- to 4-month-old female swine in an experimental non-occlusive mesenteric ischemia model.

Intervention and dose

The H₂ group inhaled 2% H₂ with 25% O₂ from 30 minutes before the start of local mesenteric epinephrine administration until euthanasia at T=240 minutes. · 2% H₂; FiO₂ initially 25% and subsequently regulated to maintain SpO₂ at 95–100%. Total gas flow was not reported.

Duration

From T=−30 minutes to euthanasia at T=240 minutes (270 minutes total).

Reported result

The article reports no significant reduction in intestinal histological ischemic damage, blood-gas measures or 8-OHdG with 2% H₂ in this small swine model.

Main limitation

Preclinical evidence only; findings do not establish a treatment effect in people. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. The article declares no conflicts of interest.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Preclinical

Reported design

Controlled preclinical study

Research topic

Cardiovascular and circulatory health

Administration form

Inhaled H₂

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

Eight 3- to 4-month-old female swine in an experimental non-occlusive mesenteric ischemia model.

Sample

8 swine randomized to control (n=4) or H₂ (n=4).

Duration

From T=−30 minutes to euthanasia at T=240 minutes (270 minutes total).

Intervention

The H₂ group inhaled 2% H₂ with 25% O₂ from 30 minutes before the start of local mesenteric epinephrine administration until euthanasia at T=240 minutes.

Hydrogen form

Inhaled molecular H₂ at 2% with oxygen adjusted to 25%; not Brown’s gas.

Dose or H₂ specification

2% H₂; FiO₂ initially 25% and subsequently regulated to maintain SpO₂ at 95–100%. Total gas flow was not reported.

H₂ flow

Not reported in the full article — an absolute H₂ flow in mL/min could not be verified.

O₂ delivered with H₂

25% O₂ at examination initiation, then FiO₂ adjusted to maintain SpO₂ at 95–100%; absolute O₂ flow was not reported.

Comparator

Control swine received 25% O₂ without H₂ under the same NOMI protocol.

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

Intestinal histological ischemia grade, blood gases, lactate, electrolytes and plasma 8-OHdG.

Reported result

The article reports no significant reduction in intestinal histological ischemic damage, blood-gas measures or 8-OHdG with 2% H₂ in this small swine model.

Extraction completeness

The complete machine-readable article was checked for source identity, methods, intervention quantities, results, tables, funding and conflict declarations. This public record is based on the full article.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Preclinical evidence only; findings do not establish a treatment effect in people. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. The article declares no conflicts of interest.

Applies directly to

Applies to the reported animal, cell or tissue model, not directly to patients.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 40626114 · DOI: 10.1002/ams2.70072

Publisher access

A free full article is available through PubMed Central.

Extraction basis

Official PubMed/PMC full article; record re-audited and corrected 25 August 2026.

Last reviewed

25 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.