Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

The potential cardioprotective effects of hydrogen in irradiated mice

Qian L, Cao F, Cui J, Wang Y, Huang Y, Chuai Y, Zaho L, Jiang H, Cai J. · Journal of Radiation Research. 2010;51(6):741–747.

PreclinicalH₂-rich waterPublished 2010Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Preclinical

Population or model

Male BALB/c mice exposed either to 7 Gy whole-body cobalt-60 gamma irradiation or to a single 15 Gy localized cardiac dose, depending on the experiment.

Intervention and dose

Mice received hydrogen-rich pure drinking water beginning 24 hours before irradiation. The study presents this as pretreatment; the exact continuation schedule after irradiation is not stated consistently across all outcome experiments. · Hydrogen-rich water was maintained above 0.6 mmol/L and verified by gas chromatography.

Duration

H₂-rich water began 24 hours before irradiation; survival was followed for 30 days, early cardiac assessments occurred at 24 hours and late histology at 100 days.

Reported result

After 7 Gy whole-body irradiation, 90% of mice without H₂ pretreatment died by day 13, while 80% of H₂-pretreated mice were alive at day 30. Cardiac histology did not differ among groups at 24 hours; at day 100, myocardial degeneration was reported in 40% of irradiated ordinary-water mice and in none of the H₂-pretreated mice. Myocardial MDA, 8-OHdG and comet parameters were lower and antioxidant measures higher with H₂ pretreatment.

Main limitation

Preclinical study combining different irradiation doses and outcome cohorts, with figure-specific rather than fully consolidated allocation, many surrogate laboratory outcomes, no functional cardiac endpoint and unclear postirradiation water schedule for each experiment. It tests pretreatment, not rescue therapy. The National Natural Science Foundation of China funded the study; authors reported no conflicts of interest.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Preclinical

Reported design

Controlled mouse radiation experiments with survival, cardiac histology and oxidative/DNA-damage assays

Research topic

Cardiovascular and circulatory health

Administration form

H₂-rich water

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

Male BALB/c mice exposed either to 7 Gy whole-body cobalt-60 gamma irradiation or to a single 15 Gy localized cardiac dose, depending on the experiment.

Sample

90 mice in total. The 30-day survival experiment used 20 mice per irradiated water arm; histology and biochemical/DNA-damage experiments used separate figure-specific subsets, including n=6 for reported assays, rather than one common analysis cohort.

Duration

H₂-rich water began 24 hours before irradiation; survival was followed for 30 days, early cardiac assessments occurred at 24 hours and late histology at 100 days.

Intervention

Mice received hydrogen-rich pure drinking water beginning 24 hours before irradiation. The study presents this as pretreatment; the exact continuation schedule after irradiation is not stated consistently across all outcome experiments.

Hydrogen form

H₂ dissolved in drinking water — H₂ only, not Brown's gas.

Dose or H₂ specification

Hydrogen-rich water was maintained above 0.6 mmol/L and verified by gas chromatography.

Comparator

Irradiated mice receiving ordinary pure water, with non-irradiated age-matched controls for relevant histology and biochemical comparisons.

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

Thirty-day survival, early and late cardiac histology and collagen, myocardial superoxide dismutase and glutathione, malondialdehyde, 8-OHdG and comet-assay DNA-damage parameters.

Reported result

After 7 Gy whole-body irradiation, 90% of mice without H₂ pretreatment died by day 13, while 80% of H₂-pretreated mice were alive at day 30. Cardiac histology did not differ among groups at 24 hours; at day 100, myocardial degeneration was reported in 40% of irradiated ordinary-water mice and in none of the H₂-pretreated mice. Myocardial MDA, 8-OHdG and comet parameters were lower and antioxidant measures higher with H₂ pretreatment.

Extraction completeness

The complete free J-STAGE/author-uploaded PDF, total sample, irradiation protocols, H₂ preparation and concentration, survival, early null histology, late histology, oxidative and DNA-damage findings, funding and conflict declaration were checked.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Preclinical study combining different irradiation doses and outcome cohorts, with figure-specific rather than fully consolidated allocation, many surrogate laboratory outcomes, no functional cardiac endpoint and unclear postirradiation water schedule for each experiment. It tests pretreatment, not rescue therapy. The National Natural Science Foundation of China funded the study; authors reported no conflicts of interest.

Applies directly to

Radiation injury in male mice under the reported pretreatment protocols; it does not establish cardioprotection, dosing or safety during human radiotherapy.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 21116102 · DOI: 10.1269/jrr.10093

Publisher access

Free publisher PDF on J-STAGE; a free author-uploaded full-text copy is also available.

Extraction basis

Complete Journal of Radiation Research PDF from J-STAGE, author-uploaded full-text copy and PubMed metadata; full-text extraction checked 9 August 2026.

Last reviewed

10 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.