A basic study on molecular hydrogen (H_2) inhalation in acute cerebral ischemia patients for safety check with physiological parameters and measurement of blood H_2 level
Ono H, Nishijima Y, Adachi N, Sakamoto M, Kudo Y, Kaneko K, Nakao A, Imaoka T. · Medical gas research. 2012;2(1):21.
Study at a glance
Human
Human participants studied for cardiovascular and circulatory health. See eligibility criteria in the linked full text.
Full text reports inhaled H₂-containing gas plus H₂ dissolved in another reported solution plus an injected or infused H₂ intervention. Detected intervention quantities or schedules: 0.8 mM, 4%, 3%, 100ml, 30 min, 90%. · H₂-related quantities reported in the intervention passages: 0.8 mM, 4%, 3%, 100ml, 30 min, 90%. Values are not combined across different experimental arms.
30 min
Article-reported result excerpt (24 words maximum): “HC in the blood increased rapidly both in the arterial and venous blood after the initiation of H_2 inhalation with 3% (case 2, 3)…” This excerpt is not a complete result summary; consult the linked full text for all positive and null findings.
Human evidence; design, sample size and comparator limit interpretation. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. The article declares no conflicts of interest.
What kind of evidence is this?
Human
Human interventional or observational study
Cardiovascular and circulatory health
Inhaled H₂
Information not yet classified
Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.
Methods
Human participants studied for cardiovascular and circulatory health. See eligibility criteria in the linked full text.
Human study; the article does not state one consolidated sample total, so no total is inferred.
30 min
Full text reports inhaled H₂-containing gas plus H₂ dissolved in another reported solution plus an injected or infused H₂ intervention. Detected intervention quantities or schedules: 0.8 mM, 4%, 3%, 100ml, 30 min, 90%.
Inhaled molecular H₂ at 4%; not classified as Brown’s gas without an H₂/O₂ composition.
H₂-related quantities reported in the intervention passages: 0.8 mM, 4%, 3%, 100ml, 30 min, 90%. Values are not combined across different experimental arms.
Not reported in the full article — an absolute H₂ flow in mL/min could not be verified.
O₂ concentration and absolute O₂ flow were not both reported in the full article; no value is inferred.
Control or comparison condition reported in the full article; see the linked methods for arm-specific details.
Outcomes and reported result
survival or mortality, clinical symptoms or functional scores, tumor growth or cancer markers, oxidative-stress and antioxidant markers, apoptosis or cell injury, histology or tissue damage
Article-reported result excerpt (24 words maximum): “HC in the blood increased rapidly both in the arterial and venous blood after the initiation of H_2 inhalation with 3% (case 2, 3)…” This excerpt is not a complete result summary; consult the linked full text for all positive and null findings.
The complete machine-readable article was checked for source identity, methods, intervention quantities, results, tables, funding and conflict declarations. This public record is based on the full article.
A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.
Limitations and applicability
Human evidence; design, sample size and comparator limit interpretation. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. The article declares no conflicts of interest.
Applies only to the population and protocol reported in this cardiovascular and circulatory health article.
No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.
Sources and record status
PMID: 22916706 · DOI: 10.1186/2045-9912-2-21
A free full article is available through PubMed Central.
Official PubMed/PMC full article; source identity, intervention data and declarations re-audited 25 August 2026.
25 August 2026
Help people check the facts before they buy.
Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy
Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.