Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

Molecular hydrogen reduces dermatitis-induced itch, diabetic itch and cholestatic itch through a SIRT1–β-catenin pathway in mice

Zhang L et al. · Redox Biol. 2025;79:103472.

PreclinicalInhaled H₂Published 2025Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Preclinical

Population or model

Mice with dermatitis-, diabetes- or bile-duct-ligation-associated itch

Intervention and dose

2% H₂ inhalation for 1 hour daily on three protocol-specific days; separate comparisons used hydrogen-rich saline 5 mL/kg intraperitoneally · 2% inhaled H₂; hydrogen-rich saline 5 mL/kg for the injection comparisons.

Duration

Three daily 1-hour inhalations for prevention experiments; separate single-treatment experiments assessed established itch

Reported result

The article reports less scratching and oxidative and synaptic changes with both inhaled H₂ and H₂-rich saline. It also reports no reduction in fasting glucose in the diabetic model.

Main limitation

Multiple preclinical models, many outcomes and mechanistic interventions; there were no human participants and no clinical itch endpoint.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Preclinical

Reported design

Controlled experiments across three mouse models of persistent itch, with pathway-inhibitor and electrophysiology comparisons

Research topic

Skin, wound and aging research

Administration form

Inhaled H₂

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

Mice with dermatitis-, diabetes- or bile-duct-ligation-associated itch

Sample

Behavioral comparisons generally used n=8/group and mechanistic assays n=5/group; the article contains multiple cohorts

Duration

Three daily 1-hour inhalations for prevention experiments; separate single-treatment experiments assessed established itch

Intervention

2% H₂ inhalation for 1 hour daily on three protocol-specific days; separate comparisons used hydrogen-rich saline 5 mL/kg intraperitoneally

Hydrogen form

Two H₂-only delivery forms were tested: inhaled 2% H₂ gas and H₂ dissolved in saline. The article does not describe Brown’s gas.

Dose or H₂ specification

2% inhaled H₂; hydrogen-rich saline 5 mL/kg for the injection comparisons.

H₂ flow

Not reported — the full text gives 2% H₂ but no absolute H₂ flow in mL/min.

O₂ delivered with H₂

Carrier-gas O₂ concentration and O₂ flow are not reported in the extracted full-text methods.

Comparator

Corresponding disease-model mice without H₂, plus pharmacologic pathway comparisons

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

Scratching behavior, spinal oxidative markers and antioxidant enzymes, SIRT1/β-catenin signaling, synaptic activity and dendritic-spine density

Reported result

The article reports less scratching and oxidative and synaptic changes with both inhaled H₂ and H₂-rich saline. It also reports no reduction in fasting glucose in the diabetic model.

Extraction completeness

Protocols, doses, principal figures, positive and null findings, funding and conflicts checked in the open-access full text.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Multiple preclinical models, many outcomes and mechanistic interventions; there were no human participants and no clinical itch endpoint.

Applies directly to

Experimental persistent itch in mice, not treatment of chronic itch in people.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 39752998 · DOI: 10.1016/j.redox.2024.103472

Publisher access

Open-access full text is available through PMC.

Extraction basis

Open-access PMC full text and PubMed record; no retraction or expression of concern was shown in the checked records on 7 August 2026.

Last reviewed

10 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.