Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

Molecular Hydrogen Therapy for SLE‐PAH: Case Report on Immune Marker Modulation

Tu TH, Lu JW, Wu CH, Ho YJ, Lui SW, Hsieh TY, Wang KY, Liu FC. · In vivo (Athens, Greece). 2025;39(2):1211-1219.

HumanOther formsPublished 2025Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Human

Population or model

One 51-year-old woman with systemic lupus erythematosus-associated pulmonary arterial hypertension and right-sided heart failure after severe sepsis.

Intervention and dose

Daily oral H₂-generating capsules were added as adjunctive therapy in March 2024; the report does not state a capsule count per day in the case narrative. · Each capsule contained 170 mg hydrogen-rich coral calcium and was described as providing approximately 1.7×10²¹ hydrogen molecules. The article gives a theoretical equivalence to 24 cups of water at 1,200 ppb; that is not a directly administered water concentration.

Duration

Daily treatment from March 2024 through the reported follow-up.

Reported result

The report describes stabilization of symptoms and changes in several immune-cell measures after adjunctive capsule use. A single uncontrolled case receiving other treatments cannot establish that the capsules caused these changes.

Main limitation

Human evidence; design, sample size and comparator limit interpretation. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. The article declares no conflicts of interest.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Human

Reported design

Case report

Research topic

Cardiovascular and circulatory health

Administration form

Other forms

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

One 51-year-old woman with systemic lupus erythematosus-associated pulmonary arterial hypertension and right-sided heart failure after severe sepsis.

Sample

Single-patient case report.

Duration

Daily treatment from March 2024 through the reported follow-up.

Intervention

Daily oral H₂-generating capsules were added as adjunctive therapy in March 2024; the report does not state a capsule count per day in the case narrative.

Hydrogen form

an oral H₂-generating preparation — H₂ only unless the full text explicitly reports oxygen co-delivery.

Dose or H₂ specification

Each capsule contained 170 mg hydrogen-rich coral calcium and was described as providing approximately 1.7×10²¹ hydrogen molecules. The article gives a theoretical equivalence to 24 cups of water at 1,200 ppb; that is not a directly administered water concentration.

Comparator

No concurrent control; clinical and immune measures were followed over time in one patient receiving multiple treatments.

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

survival or mortality, clinical symptoms or functional scores, tumor growth or cancer markers, inflammation and cytokines, oxidative-stress and antioxidant markers, apoptosis or cell injury

Reported result

The report describes stabilization of symptoms and changes in several immune-cell measures after adjunctive capsule use. A single uncontrolled case receiving other treatments cannot establish that the capsules caused these changes.

Extraction completeness

The complete machine-readable article was checked for source identity, methods, intervention quantities, results, tables, funding and conflict declarations. This public record is based on the full article.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Human evidence; design, sample size and comparator limit interpretation. Funding or grant information is reported in the full article. The article declares no conflicts of interest.

Applies directly to

Applies only to the population and protocol reported in this cardiovascular and circulatory health article.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 40010970 · DOI: 10.21873/invivo.13926

Publisher access

A free full article is available through PubMed Central.

Extraction basis

Official PubMed/PMC full article; record re-audited and corrected 25 August 2026.

Last reviewed

25 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.