Hydrogenology
Source-linked study record

Application of Molecular Hydrogen in Heart Surgery under Cardiopulmonary Bypass

Danilova DA, Brichkin YD, Medvedev AP, Pichugin VV, Fedorov SA, Taranov EV, Nazarov EI, Ryazanov MV, Bolshukhin GV, Deryugina AV. · Sovremennye Tehnologii v Medicine. 2021;13(1):71–77.

HumanInhaled H₂Published 2021Source checked
Study record, not medical adviceThis record reports what the source states. It is not medical advice and does not establish that molecular hydrogen is effective, safe or appropriate for any person.
Quick summary

Study at a glance

Evidence type

Human

Population or model

Adults undergoing cardiac surgery with cardiopulmonary bypass for acquired heart-valve disease.

Intervention and dose

H₂ was added to the ventilator breathing circuit immediately after tracheal intubation and continued throughout the operation. · 1.5–2.0% H₂ in the ventilator circuit.

Duration

From intubation through the end of the operation; exact inhalation time varied with surgery and was not reported as one duration.

Reported result

Selected within-group lipid-peroxidation measures changed during and after surgery, with a different pattern in the untreated group. Baseline marker values differed substantially and the article did not provide a clear randomized between-group estimate. No clinical outcome, organ injury, adverse-event comparison, recovery time, length of stay or mortality endpoint was reported.

Main limitation

Only 20 patients, unclear group formation, no reported randomization or blinding, important baseline marker differences, multiple within-group comparisons and only biochemical surrogate outcomes. The article reported no financial support and no conflicts of interest.

Evidence and classification

What kind of evidence is this?

Evidence type

Human

Reported design

Non-randomized two-group perioperative study

Research topic

Cardiovascular and circulatory health

Administration form

Inhaled H₂

Information not yet classified

Some editorial classification fields are still pending. The source-reported outcomes and result are shown below; Hydrogenology does not infer a positive or negative signal from prose automatically.

Reported in the source

Methods

Population or model

Adults undergoing cardiac surgery with cardiopulmonary bypass for acquired heart-valve disease.

Sample

20 patients: 16 men and 4 women; H₂ group n=11 and comparison group n=9.

Duration

From intubation through the end of the operation; exact inhalation time varied with surgery and was not reported as one duration.

Intervention

H₂ was added to the ventilator breathing circuit immediately after tracheal intubation and continued throughout the operation.

Hydrogen form

Dilute inhaled molecular H₂ — not Brown's gas; no intentional O₂ co-intervention was described.

Dose or H₂ specification

1.5–2.0% H₂ in the ventilator circuit.

H₂ flow

Not reported — the complete article gives concentration but no total circuit flow, so H₂ mL/min cannot be calculated.

O₂ delivered with H₂

Carrier-gas composition, O₂ percentage and O₂ flow were not reported as intervention details.

Comparator

Nine operated patients did not receive H₂. The article does not report random allocation or blinding.

Reported, not endorsed

Outcomes and reported result

Outcomes measured

Diene and triene conjugates and Schiff bases in arterial and venous blood at anesthesia induction, before and after cardiopulmonary bypass and on postoperative day one.

Reported result

Selected within-group lipid-peroxidation measures changed during and after surgery, with a different pattern in the untreated group. Baseline marker values differed substantially and the article did not provide a clear randomized between-group estimate. No clinical outcome, organ injury, adverse-event comparison, recovery time, length of stay or mortality endpoint was reported.

Extraction completeness

The complete English journal/PMC article, patient groups, all four sampling stages, arterial and venous tables, exposure specification, funding and conflicts were checked; the absence of clinical outcomes and absolute gas flow is explicit.

A reported association, difference or mechanism is not automatically a clinical benefit.

Interpretation limits

Limitations and applicability

Main methodological cautions

Only 20 patients, unclear group formation, no reported randomization or blinding, important baseline marker differences, multiple within-group comparisons and only biochemical surrogate outcomes. The article reported no financial support and no conflicts of interest.

Applies directly to

Adults undergoing valve surgery with cardiopulmonary bypass under this intraoperative protocol; it does not establish improved clinical recovery or safety.

No single-study GRADE certainty rating is assigned. Read how records and evidence assessments are prepared.

Sources and status

Sources and record status

Identifiers

PMID: 34513069 · DOI: 10.17691/stm2021.13.1.09

Publisher access

Free full article on the journal site and PubMed Central.

Extraction basis

Modern Technologies in Medicine and PMC full articles plus PubMed metadata; full-text and article-status check completed 8 August 2026.

Last reviewed

10 August 2026

Help the next reader

Help people check the facts before they buy.

Hydrogenology keeps 665 source-checked records accessible without advertising or product promotion.

Support independent access
Help us correct the recordReport a discrepancy

Send the exact difference between this page and the linked source. The study reference is attached automatically.